Mentalist Not One Red Cent Review


Synopsis

CBI consultant Jane (Baker) visits a cobbler in North Sacramento to get his shoes resoled. While he waits a bank nearby gets robbed and the assistant manager gets shot in process. FBI Agent Mancini (Ivan Sergei) once again butts heads with Senior Agent Teresa Lisbon (Tunney) when he claims jurisdiction of the case, getting Director Gale Bertram (Michael Gaston) involved.

Concise Verdict

Like the other episodes this season, Not One Red Cent sports a distinct classic Mentalist vibe, via mentalist tricks Jane uses to impress and bemuse his younger colleagues; namely Grace. Music, direction, and casting were also very good and served this episode. 8/10

Detailed Review

I think I’m burned out cause I couldn’t really think of much to say about this one. It was a nice one shot episode, but didn’t really have a lot to add in terms of overall characterization (besides plenty of continuity, which is always welcome). Could it be the writers decided to cut me some slack? Obviously, cause that’s their highest priority when they come up with their scripts. There was, however, one issue that demands immediate attention…

Lisbon/Mancini

Mancini tells Lisbon that he suspects she doesn’t like him. She calls him out on his childishness then adds, incredulously, that he shouldn’t be surprised since he lost Loralie Martins, there most important witness in the Red John case. The FBI agent insists that it wasn’t his fault then states that when “people” (subtext here screamed “women”) pretend they don’t like him, “it’s usually because they do.” Lisbon flat out tells him that she doesn’t, but is nonetheless intrigued when he invites her to a law enforcement poker game. Lisbon agrees and when she later meets him at the bar where the game is held, he introduces her to some very prominent people. Amongst the players is Director Bertram who is surprised that Lisbon is into gambling. Lisbon confidently replies “it’s not gambling if you know you’ll win.”

I adored this scene. Mostly for its possibilities.

-I so hope that Jane has no idea Lisbon is a good poker player. After all, in episode, Red-Handed, Lisbon didn’t say a single word as Jane explained how he keeps winning to the rest of the team, she even got up and left in the middle of it. At the time I assumed it was because she’d hear it all before. But what if it’s because she’s already so good at poker? That would be awesome.

Fun trivia, Ms. Tunney is in fact an excellent poker player and even participated in some tournaments. Don’t ask me for the source, I read this a long time ago.

-Now for some reason every time Mancini calls Lisbon “Teresa” I feel like punching him in the nose. Maybe it’s my suspicion that he might have been brought on as some sort of a romantic interest for Lisbon. If that’s true, I so hope he doesn’t turn out to be a genuine cop and not an RJ mole, as is hinted by the fact that he knows she plays poker. Has he been spying on her or is it a well known hobby of hers? Bertram didn’t know…too high up on the food chain? Seriously, really hope Mancini isn’t an RJ spy. Cause, well, been there, done that with Craig O Laughlin.

Conversely, if he is a legit cop, I’d love to see how a relationship with Lisbon might pan out. Ivan Sergei is a great actor and I’d love to see how (if?) he and Jane would deal with him dating Lisbon.

For now, the most pressing question seems to me…


For the record, I added that last answer on a whim :p

Best Quotes

“Oh, I like it when you get all authoritarian on me.“- Jane, to Lisbon.

“Yes, that time of the year I have to get my shoes resoled.”- Love the continuity on Jane’s god awful shoes.

“We’re very sorry for your loss.” Lisbon, to victim’s grandmother in the funeral after Jane states he had been in on the robbery.

“You really want me to tell you, you’re going to ruin the surprise.” Jane, to Lisbon.

“I don’t like surprises.”-Lisbon, in reply to the above.

“You know the type. They date down so that they have all the power in the relationship.” -I wonder if Jane was hinting here that Lisbon is a power dater. I doubt it though.

“High class crowd. I wish you would’ve warned me.”- Lisbon to Mancini. I love the implication here that Lisbon would’ve dressed up if she’d known beforehand. It’s not hard to believe consider how she cleaned up for a fundraiser in season two. Happy, happy memory…

“It’s not gambling if you know you’re gonna win.” -Lisbon is awesome. That is all.

“These shoes are actually quite comfortable. They’re growing on me.”-Jane, on his new shoes.

“Not on me.” Lisbon, in reply to the above. Looks like viewer’s aren’t the only ones who’ve gotten used to Jane’s shoes..

Image by Chizuruchibi. Copyright Reviewbrain October 2012. Not to be used without permission.

 

Honorable Mentions

Team women really scored this time around…

Tunney was in top form in this episode. Her drawl, her facial expressions, gestures; she stole every single scene she was in.

Righetti was once again charming as feisty Grace still not knowing better than to bet against Jane. Loved how her sweet smile to Jane at the end contrasted completely with what could only have been an obscene note.

Guest star Katie Walder was very convincing as Nancy, the victim’s fiancée and killer.

I’m beyond delighted with Righetti and Tunney’s styling. Hair, makeup and outfits are naturally gorgeous, flattering, yet character appropriate. Kudos to whomever is in charge. I’d never have guessed Rightetti was pregnant if I hadn’t already known it.

Icings on the Cake

CBI Karl is back! Seeing him is always a treat.

It’s nice to see Jane so focused on his work. Ties into the fact that maybe catching bad guys is really why he’s at CBI.

Really like Jane’s description of the perp as a power-dater, and how he found her out.

Pet Peeves

Considering how much Jane loves his godawful brown shoes, I would have thought he’d be more annoyed or broken up over the fact that he can’t wear them till the cobbler gets over the trauma of almost getting shot. It was weird seeing that Lisbon cared more about it than he did. Although, considering how ugly his temp shoes were, I can’t really blame her. Maybe Jane has an ugly shoes fetish?

I immediately pegged the victim as having been in on the bank robbery and was therefore surprised it took Jane a bit long to figure it out too.

*All material posted in this blog is the intellectual property of reviewbrain (unless otherwise stated). Readers are free to make use of the information provided they cite the source (this blog) either by name (reviewbrain’s blog) or by linking to it. Please extend the same courtesy to the authors of the comments as well (by mentioning their names) to ensure that credit is given where credit is due.

About reviewbrain

Screenwriter, independent producer, compulsive critic, editor, artist, language lover, student of life, pacifist, parent. View all posts by reviewbrain

33 responses to “Mentalist Not One Red Cent Review

  • julienic73gmail

    I agree there wasn’t a lot to say about this episode although it was a very good stand alone, although depending on the outcome of the poker game it could notbbe as stand alonecas we think. What if the poker game is a recritment party for red john. Maybe after failing to recruit jane he has his eye on lisbon. Far fetched i know.
    What was jane doing poking his head out when shots were being fired? I think jane wasn’t as keen on the shoes as he made out as he did measure up the dead man’s shoes but it was a way to needle lisbon. Loved his tricknon Grace though very mean but i guess he figures they deserve it when they fall for it. What have they done with Rigsby? Must be the first time he has said no.

  • All-I-need

    I think the episode was intended as some kind of breather – you know, the calm before the storm. And thinking back on it, a lot of important things happened.

    Jane still loves his old, broken-in shoes and clearly wants them back, but he also told Lisbon the new ones are growing on him – symbolism for how she is also growing on him but he can`t let go of his past?

    Whatever Mancini`s motives may be (and I`d like to think he is actually interested in Lisbon for her sake, not because he is Red John`s guy – which would be a bit obvious, right?), his invitation to the poker game provided a wonderful opportunity for Lisbon to meet a whole bunch of important people – including a STATE SENATOR! Now, this friendly encounter, not tainted by murder or Jane`s antics, might prove invaluable at a later point.

    And was it just me or did Jane actually enjoy his game with VanPelt? Because to me it sure looked like he was trying to foster a friendship with her, or rather make the existing one stronger – and judging by her smile, Grace was all for it. I absolutely loved their scenes – especially the one at the end. Grace really should know better by now, but I`m glad she doesn`t let that stop her. Jane would be bored silly otherwise and we all know the kind of chaos his boredom usually leads to.

    I can`t wait for Jane to find out about Lisbon and her pokergame – and especially the fact that Mancini invited her. Considering Jane`s feelings for her, that is definitely going to be very interesting to watch as it unfolds.

    Also, Jane`s rental shoes were a definite crime against fashion and common sense. His enormous ego clearly is the only reason he managed to wear them in public and not look like he wanted to be swallowed by the ground in shame.

  • hardly_loquacious

    I thought the episode was charming. I like the lighter ones that aren’t all serious all the time. (And I am really sick of Red John)

    I adored the way Jane and Lisbon played off each other here. It was really collaborative and charming. And that scene on the couch is one of my new favourites. I just love the vocal tone both of them used in it. It was softer than usual, comfortable. Also loved the scene in the vault.

    I also will second the awesomeness of the ladies in this one. I’ve been mentally referring to this season as the season of the women. They’re really getting some great writing this season (and I love VP and Jane’s friendship). RT was also fabulous with her facial expressions, as usual.

    I, like you, really hope that Mancini is a good cop (btw, you have one too many negatives in that sentence in your post). I was worried for a while that he was just trying to date Lisbon because he’s RJ’s mole. I realy hope that’s not the case. It will be unbelievably tedious and annoying. But I don’t think they’ll go that route given that they basically did the whole “VP gets engaged to RJ’s mole in the FBI” a year ago. Surely the show wouldn’t do that plotline twice. Surely. (I keep telling myself this, because if they do go the romance route with Lisbon/Mancini and he turns out to be one of RJ’s moles I’m quite frankly just going to be angry.)

    I’m kind of hoping that Mancini is used as a way to bring Lisbon’s trust/relationship issues to the forefront. Particularly given that Jane will also have a “legitimate” beef with Lisbon dating someone new, given that he’s in the FBI and they know the organization has a mole there, giving Jane a “legitimate” reason to poke his nose in. This is my hope, and until proven otherwise, that is what I’m telling myself is going to happen. It stops me from going crazy.

  • violet

    You’re right, not much meat on the bone with this episode (yeah, I agree with All-I-Need, it was a breather.) But Lisbon a power dater? Lol! That’s an interesting idea!

    Jane’s storyline with his shoes was endearing and funny, from his awkward jokes with the cobbler to the shoes themselves and his discreet attempt to find new ones when no one was watching (as Julie mentioned). The foot powder was amusing too: so not glamorous! It really contrasted with Jane’s usual stylish persona… And one would have thought that he’d have learnt not to test anything unfamiliar that comes his way after the tea incident in ‘Devil’s Cherry’. But no, he still has to touch and experiment with everything!

    Also, in response to All-I-Need, I don’t think that he wasn’t ashamed as he led Lisbon to believe: the poor guy didn’t want to enter the vault when the techs were examining the scene. Clearly he didn’t want to be mocked by them (judging by his previous interactions with Steiner and the one in the pilot, those guys probably wouldn’t miss a chance to get at him). He only seemed comfortable with Lisbon and the team’s remarks. And even so, he was still about to steal shoes during the gathering in memory of their owner…😉

    His interaction with Grace also showed that he got their friendship back. Tricking them is a way to show affection for him.

    About Mancini, you’re right. He was obviously trying to flirt with her after leaving Bertram. He also trying to put himself forward quite subtly: first he implied that he was successful with the ladies. Then, by inviting her he managed to 1) prove his willingness to smooth things over and forget the past; 2) take a first step with her on a personal level, since that evening out may ease her into accepting a date with him; 3) show her that he’s good for her career, unlike Jane… In other words, he’s a good catch, a good colleague and may have a good influence on her job, unlike the dominant man in her life, as Windsparrow would put it. Yes, he’s definitively a man with a plan.

    Last, am I paranoid, or was the plot somewhat also an allusion to the mess with the mole and Lorelei? After all, the bad guys had a man on the inside…

    Keep up the good work!

  • All-I-need

    I completely forgot to comment on the scene on the couch between Lisbon and Jane. Good lord, that was SO CUTE! And somehow it had quite the intimate, domestic feel to it. The way they were talking, Jane`s rough, sleepy voice … might as well have been a bedroom scene. My inner fangirl was dong backflips with happiness. Definitely my favorite scene of the whole episode. No surprise there.

  • Hallie

    Good, solid episode, enjoyable, fun but we really didn’t have the depth, insight or development (character-wise) that “Devil’s Cherry” had.

    I have to agree about Robin really shining in this episode. I think Ken Woodruff wrote her very well, she wasn’t a doormat-she was strong, without overcompensating and funny.

    Hope the shoes mean more than what they appeared, that Jane is ready for growth-would be nice as a viewer.

    I found the authoritarian line sticking with me and making me chuckle beyond the episode-especially since Bruno mentioned Mancini is the sort of guy Jane hates because one of his traits is being authoritarian. Guess it has a different effect on him when it’s Lisbon.😉

    Mancini bothers me a bit, and I do hope he does like Lisbon for her own sake. I also think it would be cool if Jane already knows about the game because he and Teresa are working a new angle that we viewers aren’t privy to yet. But if he doesn’t I hope the writer’s give us some great moments (and some funny ones) of Jane and Mancini and Jane and Lisbon, when he does find out. Jealous Jane and how he would handle this situation would be highly amusing and interesting as I don’t recall ever seeing him that way.

    Hardly Loquacious made me chuckle with her quoted, repeated use of the word legitimate. And though I’ve no doubt this will be Jane’s raison d’être for objecting, I hope they at least give us some nice subtle hints that there’s a bit of jealousy in there too. After all, his feelings are out there now, whether he tried to take them back or not. (Hasn’t anyone told him there’s no takesies-backsies?) Plus, Bruno did mention between Mancini’s personality, job in the FBI and, yes, him wooing Lisbon too, he wouldn’t like the guy.

    I also liked Lisbon’s line about not losing if you know you’re gonna win. She was awesome in this ep.

    I found it interesting the card table where they’re playing at is felted in red instead of the very common green. Was that choice deliberate symbolism?

    Can’t wait till episode 100. And I’m already quite excited about the Lisbon arc.

  • ratsacreAnnie

    I really liked the ‘other’ couch scene with Grace, Rigsby and Jane. Lovely to see them back to normal.

    Funnily enough, the scene that really stuck with me was Jane sitting at his desk, illuminated by his wonderful old desk lamp, working his way through the list. Something in the simplicity of that shot just spoke to me. Also funny when Lisbon woke him up. That was a nice bit of work between the two of them.

    Those wretched shoes! So funny. It was the first thing I noticed looking at the publicity stills on Red Blog. Holy crap! In Australia, those type of shoes are called ‘Brothel Creepers’. I wonder if Simon, being of around my vintage and from NSW would have known that?

    I have my own pet theory of why he has the same shoes and suits. I think they may have been the last thing that Angela bought him, and as such, they are repaired every year. Nice nod to the fans, who have for years wondered why those shoes, when he clearly can afford better ones.

    Only one thing bugged me as being almost out of character for Jane, and that was the fact that he had to be prompted by the cobbler to get a tip. Perhaps it’s some weird game they play each year. Like at the beginning when he tells Jane “Put” (on the counter being the inference). Loved his obvious reluctance to hand them over.

    Jane is normally so very generous. It just seemed this episode they went out of their way to make him ‘naughty’? Basically cheating Grace into buying him lunches, stealing foot powder, considering stealing the dead dude’s shoes, not being generous to the cobbler who’d fixed his beloved shoes? This is not really the Jane we know and love. Well, tricking Grace is, but he usually wouldn’t make financial gain out of it. He’d be on a better wage than her, and he’s already proven he can turn hundreds iof thousands of dollars counting cards at Blackjack or legitimately playing poker…

    Anyhoos, thanks for the wonderful reviews, as always. I love coming here and reading both the reviews and the comments. Just thought I’d come out and stop lurking… Apologies for any typos I accidentally left in, am using my iPad…

  • P

    I also liked this episode and agree with All-I Need that its lightness may be the calm before the storm (I dread the Red John episodes at this point. I really am starting to hate them.)

    I don’t think the poker game was anything other than Mancini trying to get closer to Lisbon with a low pressure, non-date “date”. I too would also be angry and annoyed if they repeat the Craig/Grace plot…that would be VERY lazy writing. I actually like Lisbon/Mancini as a couple. Ultimately, I hope she and Jane will be together, but I honestly think Jane is still in denial / not ready, and I think she deserves some fun in the meantime. I hate the idea of her being the loyal woman waiting patiently (and celibately) while Jane dates/kisses/sleeps with women like Kristina, Erica, and Lorelei (he does seem to like bad girls as someone pointed out previously). Maybe seeing Lisbon with somebody else will light a fire under Jane and push him to face his feelings and take action. The threat of real competition may be just what he needs.

    Add me to the list of people who loved the couch scene and the “get all authoritarian on me” line. Is it my imagination,or was that a bit more overtly flirtatious than Jane’s usual?

    On the other hand, I don’t really see a deeper meaning with the white shoes. I just view it as a cute plot device.

    Finally, Reviewbrain commented on how focused Jane seemed on his work. This struck me as being very unjanelike. Working all night, sitting at a desk, very tired? He never does “detective-type” work. I wondered if maybe he was feeling guilty over having Lorelei stashed away somewhere and being extra diligent on the current case to make up for it. And if he is slipping away to spend time with Lorelei in addition to his regular work, that could cut in to his already spotty sleep schedule and be responsible for his obvious tiredness. Does that sound completely crazy? Maybe I am reading way too much into the scene,but until we know for sure what happened with Lorelei, I will probably be reading into things like this.

  • Cece

    Great review, but yeah, I agree, not tons to say about this episode. It was a decent stand alone.

    ***”I so hope that Jane has no idea Lisbon is a good poker player. After all, in episode, Red-Handed, Lisbon didn’t say a single word as Jane
    explained how he keeps winning to the rest of the team, she even got up and left in the middle of it. At the time I assumed it was because she’d hear it all before. But what if it’s because she’s already so good at poker? That would be awesome.”***

    It is fun to think that Jane has no idea about Card Shark Lisbon. She may not have mentioned it because, while she’s good, it’s doubtful she’s counting cards like Jane levels of good.

    ***”I so hope he doesn’t turn out to be a genuine cop and not an RJ mole, as is hinted by the fact that he knows she plays poker. Has he been spying on her or is it a well known hobby of hers? Bertram didn’t know…too high up on the food chain? Seriously, really hope Mancini isn’t an RJ spy. Cause, well, been there, done that with Craig O Laughlin.”***

    Yeah, I don’t want an O’Laughlin retread either. Besides, apart from CBI-FBI bad blood, why wouldn’t he want to go out with Lisbon? She’s fab. I don’t think he had to have known for sure she played poker to invite her to a poker game. I’d say most folks at their age know how to play poker. Besides, it was a good non-date activity for them to share if he is interested in her, but that wouldn’t cause problems if he chose not to pursue it afterwards.

    ***”Considering how much Jane loves his godawful brown shoes, I would have thought he’d be more annoyed or broken up over the fact that he
    can’t wear them till the cobbler gets over the trauma of almost getting shot. It was weird seeing that Lisbon cared more about it than he did. Although, considering how ugly his temp shoes were, I can’t really blame her. Maybe Jane has an ugly shoes fetish?”***

    Aw, I like Jane’s well-loved brown shoes. I think they’re charming. Then again, I have also been known to wear favorite articles of clothing or shoes until they are falling apart so I can relate to him on this:) Besides, his old brown shoes are nothing compared to the heinousness of those white orthopedic monstrosities. I can’t fault Lisbon for her horror.

  • ortforshort

    If you are a fan of the Red John subplot, there was a lot to say about the end of this episode. Lisbon is brought into a poker game by Mancini, an FBI agent. This mysteriously looks like a replay of Van Pelt-O’Loughlin shaping up.
    The FBI is up to its eyeballs in it’s involvement with Red John. That was clear from the assassination of Wainright in the season’s finale by the FBI and O’Laughlin’s earlier involvement and, of course, the disappearance of Lorelei.
    Now we have Lisbon invited into a card game by probable Red John stooge Mancini which contains Bertram (there he is again), FBI Bureau Director Bailey, State Senator Dawkins and DA Walcott.
    It is also obvious by now that either Red John or one of his associates must be extremely high up on the police/CBI/FBI ladder. That is the only way that Red John could possibly be always at least one step ahead of Jane and why one Red John stooge after another shows up either in the CBI, FBI or police department.
    I say, that either Red John or his highest ranking stooge, is in that poker game and this is the start of a final Red John subplot involving Lisbon, Mancini and one of the four high ranking poker players.
    Stay tuned.

  • zee

    Hello Reviewbrain,

    They gave a breather scene so we fans wouldn’t explode with the mounting excitement previous episodes they had given us.

    There was a hole in Jane’s sole! (Bad pun, but I don’t care :D) Jane seem intimidated by the cobbler’s brusque manner, probably that’s why he doesn’t want to tip as much. But of all shoes on display in the shop, he had to choose those ‘orderlies’ shoes…

    Lisbon/Mancini
    Don’t think she’s the power dater, Mancini is….
    If writers go the Craig/Grace way, it will definitely be disappointing. I am a follower of the Red John arc, thus the poker scene feels ominous with the big wigs of the armed forces. I won’t mind if they be together though…

    Lovely Grace and Jane scenes, but one thing is bugging me. Is there such thing as a ‘Track/tredge(?) Pen’ that Jane did? I’m curious…It’s makes Jane sound like he has sonic powers.

  • Jessi

    I am about 99% sure that the law enforcement people at the poker match are all of red johns friends. Including her boss. Goodie gum drops🙂

  • violet

    “But of all shoes on display in the shop, he had to choose those ‘orderlies’ shoes…”

    Maybe poor Jane didn’t have a choice: what if they were the only ones in his size?

    “Don’t think she’s the power dater, Mancini is….”

    Plausible, given how eager he is to prove his authority over cases, CBI teams and unruly consultants. But, if he’s indeed a power dater, Lisbon is about to take him down a peg or two! Our hard-boiled cop hasn’t been struggling for control with Jane for years only to let a fed walk all over her.😉 I guess it’s too soon to know for sure….

  • violet

    Well, I rather like that theory, but I can’t help but pointing out some objections.

    “The FBI is up to its eyeballs in it’s involvement with Red John. That was clear from the assassination of Wainright in the season’s finale by the FBI and O’Laughlin’s earlier involvement and, of course, the disappearance of Lorelei.”

    Uh huh, you’re taking a shortcut, here: there is probably a mole in the FBI (that’s almost certain). But that doesn’t mean the whole FBI is involved: one worm in the apple doesn’t mean the fruit is rotten. So far there are only two moles in there, vs one averred in the CBI.
    And Wainwright wasn’t assassinated by the FBI: agent Darcy wasn’t responsible for his kidnapping. The only thing we know for sure is that RJ stated that the mole told him that Rigsby was alive.There is no proof that the mysterious tipper had anything to do with the kidnapping, so that’s a stretch to call Luther’s death an “assassination” by the FBI. As for Lorelei’s disappearance, it’s plausible that the mole is involved (I think that too), but we can’t know for sure until we get more information about the incident… Yes, I’m quibbling, but let’s stay precise!😉

    “Now we have Lisbon invited into a card game by probable Red John stooge Mancini which contains Bertram (there he is again), FBI Bureau Director Bailey, State Senator Dawkins and DA Walcott.”

    Mancini may be the mole, but as far as we know, his boss could also be it. For all we know, Bertram could have asked an innocent Mancini to introduce Lisbon to the poker game, and the guy had unknowingly jumped on the occasion to get close to her without giving more thought to the game itself. As I said before, Mancini just seemed too aggressive with Jane to fit the usual profile for RJ underlyings: Rebecca, Todd, Craig, all were unobtrusive and rather sympathetic with Jane. Why would Mancini go all of his way to become Jane’s adversary?

    On the other hand, what makes you think that the poker game was suspicious? The fact that there were high-ups playing? The fact that Bertram himself was here? Or, as Hallie pointed out above, that “the card table where they’re playing at is felted in red instead of the very common green”? Because those raise some questions:

    – first, as Reviewbrain and many others pointed out, that replay of O’Laughlin’s plot would be kind of obvious, plot wise as well as character wise: after the mess with Craig and Lorelei trying to seduce Jane into the dark side, one would thing Lisbon knew better. But it’s true that the “obvious” argument is biased, since they were not afraid to use Craig before and he was the most obvious traitor ever …

    – If I understand correctly, you’re assuming that Mancini/the mole just led Lisbon in the tiger’s dent. And that the tiger is one of the players (maybe Bertram). That would imply that the mole knows who RJ is: we can think that Rebecca met him and Lorelei seemed entranced too by his words, but how can we know for sure that they saw his face? Red John might have stayed in the shadows with them too the whole time. And that also means RJ and his mole are somewhat planning to make themselves known to the cop chasing them. That’s a lot of suppositions, they are all very plausible, but once again we don’t know for sure.

    – As for the red table, Hallie is right: it’s at the very least interesting. Jane’s bed in the motel was red too: he slept with Red John’s girl in it, but the color didn’t mean that Jane or the motel owner were involved with him. Just that it was a device RJ used. If the same was to be applied to the poker game, that could mean indeed that RJ is behind the players or that RJ would use the occasion to strike without involving necessarily the players as operatives/ himself. And the red color would be quite childish for RJ to use consciously for a reunion of (at least some of) his bad guys, as childish as Jane’s red glass bead in Mancini’s pocket. It’s that sort of ominous thing you’d find in Agatha Christie’s old-school secret societies…

    Now, as I said, I rather like your theory. Well, not the part about Mancini being a second Craig (that would be disappointing), but I wouldn’t mind seeing him out of the picture one way or another: the guy is far too aggressive and self-assuming for my liking. Being an experimented cop, you would assume that he’d have more self-control: Bosco wouldn’t have been as childish as he has been in throwing his bottle at Jane and chasing him in an official building. And I’d like things to speed up with RJ: they need to deal with that part of the story with a bit more substance. I just wanted to point out some problems in your reasoning since we don’t have enough information to make more than guesses, but overall, I would find it interesting if RJ chooses to retaliate by making a move on Lisbon… Kind of like “you try to break my woman, I break yours”.

  • Sid

    The banker made himself look suspicious when he volunteered to open the vault. Not a normal reaction at all. That made me think he was involved. When he was shot, though, I figured the robbers just wanted to clean up a loose end.

  • flickster77

    Hi there !!! =DD
    I have to say I really enjoyed this episode!! this was another great review. Congratulations on a job well done. I just wanted to mention that I am not too fond of Mancini and Lisbon getting together. Perhaps it is due to the fact that I support Jisbon All the way. That scene between Grace and Patrick was Hilarious !!!! We all knew what she wrote down. XDD

  • zee

    As you’ve written above, now I strongly believe there’s a possibility Mancini is innocent. I would say he’s somewhat similar to Wainwright’s character. Always on ‘offensive mode’ towards Jane, but yet unbeknownst to him that he’s being played by RJ.

    “you try to break my woman, I break yours”.

    That’s cold…

  • ortforshort

    You’re right that I don’t have proof of any of it, but if we did, there wouldn’t be much suspense, we’d know.
    Like everyone else, I’m hoping Mancini doesn’t turn out to be another O’Laughlin, but if he’s in that card game, he’s definitely suspect.
    I wasn’t implying that the entire FBI was corrupt, nor the CBI, nor the police department, but, if you’ve been watching this show, you immediately keep a close eye on any law enforcement people because an awful lot of them end up being the murderers on this show, affiliated with RJ or not.
    Also, by now, it would be a miracle if either RJ or his top stooge (or stooges) weren’t very high up in some law enforcement agency. An outsider, or even a mid level guy, couldn’t possibly pull all the strings that RJ or his minion do.
    The poker game is the perfect place to introduce the potential suspects.
    As far as Darcy and Wainright. Again, if there were definitive proof, there wouldn’t be much suspense here, would there? Darcy was way too diligent in her pursuit of Jane and now, after the massacre of Wainright, she’s on trauma leave. How convenient for her. Wainright was always odd in his dealings with the RJ case and came across as a loose end to be eliminated. I’d be surprised, as the RJ story line unfolds in it’s entirety if I’m wrong about either of these two. Was it really an accident that Wainright was in the back of that car? And was it really an accident that Darcy and her people went berserk and riddled the limo with bullets? To what end? An assassination of Wainright by Darcy makes the most sense, and, as I said, if there were proof of that there wouldn’t be much suspense and mystery surrounding the circumstances and where the plot is going.

  • windsparrow

    “Was it really an accident that Wainright was in the back of that car? And was it really an accident that Darcy and her people went berserk and riddled the limo with bullets? To what end? An assassination of Wainright by Darcy makes the most sense, and, as I said, if there were proof of that there wouldn’t be much suspense and mystery surrounding the circumstances and where the plot is going.”

    Accident is not a word I would use for Wainwright’s presence in the back of that limo. But I do see what you mean, that we do not really know who was involved in placing him there, so we don’t know if Darcy and her team firing at the limo like they were the Mythbusters proving a point was just them getting carried away in the heat of the moment or if she knew Wainwright was there and “needed killin'” so to speak. One thing that it has only just now occurred to me to wonder is, what if things had gone a little differently? What if Darcy, et al. had been a little more restrained, a little more accurate, and had managed to stop the vehicle without plugging it full of holes? What if Darcy had nit killed Wainwright? What in blazes was Red John going to do with him? He was awfully still during the conversation with Jane. And I think the amount of duct tape that was holding Luther in place was not sufficient for binding a reasonably fit, active man. Sure Wainwright was hardly beefy but a wiry person can be surprisingly strong for their size. He must have been subdued in some other way – either drugged or poisoned and far enough gone to be weak or unconscious. And clearly, no matter who pulled the trigger, he was not long for this world.

  • windsparrow

    “Lovely Grace and Jane scenes, but one thing is bugging me. Is there such thing as a ‘Track/tredge(?) Pen’ that Jane did? I’m curious…It’s makes Jane sound like he has sonic powers.”

    I am not entirely sure what you are referring to here.
    I am guessing you were not able to clearly hear what Jane said about how he read what Van Pelt wrote as she was writing it. I believe what he was doing was tracking the movements of her pen and so reading what she wrote in that way. The skill is somewhat similar to what I do when a lady I work with who had a stroke uses her finger to “write” in the air or on a table the words she can no longer say, but requiring much more minute and speedy observational abilities than I have at my command. It makes sense to me that he would have cultivated this skill as a means of picking up information about his marks when he was a conman/psychic.

  • windsparrow

    Definitely agreeing with you on that.

  • Sid

    The whole Lisbon poker thing is a pet peeve for me.

    A)It’s well established that Lisbon is very easy to read, and I’m not just talking about Jane’s comments.
    B)Top poker players don’t talk themselves up when they go to a club to play. That’s a very amateur move.
    C)Lisbon loves to knock Jane down a notch. What better way than to challenge him to poker? She knows she doesn’t have the chops to beat him. She’s never said anything to him about poker or cards, and she’s had plenty of opportunities.
    D)If anyone is playing poker on The Mentalist, it should be Jane, because he’s incredible.
    E)How many RJ operatives you think are in that poker club? Must be a hotbed.
    F)Cho could probably be a good poker player, considering he rarely has actual expressions.
    G)Like I’ve been saying, I don’t believe the character Teresa Lisbon could be an ace poker player. Maybe Tunney is good, but I simply find it unbelievable that Lisbon is secretly a great player.

  • Sid

    “Only one thing bugged me as being almost out of character for Jane, and that was the fact that he had to be prompted by the cobbler to get a tip.”

    I didn’t see that. Jane paid him for repairing the shoes and then the cobbler wanted more money for the loaners. Considering they were garbage, that was a bit much.

  • Sid

    “I hate the idea of her being the loyal woman waiting patiently (and celibately)”

    If you want to look at it that way, they’ve both slept with one person during the show.

  • ortforshort

    Agreed. He just sat there. As an RJ stooge, that’s what they do – take whatever happens to them as doing something righteous for the cause.
    To be honest, as good as Jane is, he’s nowhere near being in RJ’s league as a mentalist. He can just about get Lisbon to do stuff for him – and she’s in love with him. Meanwhile, RJ gets people to give their lives for him in a heartbeat.
    The Mentalist of the show may turn out to really be RJ

  • violet

    “To be honest, as good as Jane is, he’s nowhere near being in RJ’s league as a mentalist. He can just get Lisbon to do stuff for him about– and she’s in love with him. Meanwhile, RJ gets people to give their lives for him in a heartbeat.”

    Very, very true. RJ is definitely smarter than Jane, no doubt about that and he’s also a better manipulator. Now, what holds Jane back a little is that he doesn’t share the same goals: he never was after holding power other people the way RJ is, he never was controlling to the point of wanting to hold people’s lives in his hand; even at his worst, it only was about money (and groping women in his fugue state…), and at a lesser degree about proving to himself that he was more brilliant than his marks. Despite all his big talk to Todd Johnson about becoming cold and heartless to get his revenge no matter what, he does drew a very clear line : he won’t endanger willingly his friends or any really innocent person to get RJ (he was worried about Darcy when RJ was stalking her). He does not try to use anyone nor does he try to brainwash potential followers into helping him; what he does with the team is more along the lines of a friendship and loyalty that influences them deeply than cold manipulation. Jane may be somewhat amoral but he still has some principles, he does not think that “there is no right or wrong”. It’s a paradox, but what makes Jane a lesser mentalist than RJ is precisely what makes him a better person.

    And, well, our poor Jane is a litter better than that actually, not only does he “get Lisbon to do stuff for him” (whether it is out of love or loyalty is another matter), but he also gets the others members of the team to help him. Hey, a whole bunch of three more people, it’s still a small victory, lol!

  • violet

    Didn’t see it before, but Chizuru Chibi’s art is utterly cute and funny! lol! Those drawings get better every time!🙂

  • zee

    Yeah, tracking the scribing sounds of the pen! Thanks windsparrow🙂.

    It’s a mean feat, no less.

  • Sid

    The art must’ve been just added today. I also didn’t see it before.

    I actually never noticed Jane’s shoes before.

  • Arco

    Just recently found this site & have been catching up on the reviews, which I have enjoyed, as well as the comments.

    If I were Lisbon, I would not be happy with Mancini. She was expecting a group of their peers to be at the game–not a bunch of influential people–including her boss (or boss’s boss if/when Wainwright gets replaced). She made it clear that the situation wasn’t what she was expecting, indicating that she would have dressed differently if she’d known. Did Mancini deliberately throw her into the deep end to see how she would react? Of course, she’s used to intereacting with the rich and famous with her cases (not to mention Mashburn) so if Mancini was trying to get her off guard, I think that he’ll fail at that.

    If Mancini was really interested in getting to know Lisbon, why not coffee or drinks, one on one? Is he trying to impress her with who he knows? I don’t object to Lisbon getting a dating life that doesn’t involve Jane but another hothead? Really? Lisbon has enough hotheads & impetuous people on her team as it is. Doesn’t she need someone more restful in her personal life?

    I suspect that Lisbon will more than hold her own at the poker table. Surely, this isn’t a one-time thing–she couldn’t keep playing in high-stakes games if she loses all the time. The setup was too pointed. I see the poker-game theme as an ongoing thing, & yes, I would guess that at least one of the players is a Red John friend.

  • Sid

    windsparrow was saying the movements, not the sounds.

    I find it hard to believe that it’s possible to be able to do it accurately enough to decipher the letters.

  • zee

    oopss…you’re right it is movements!

  • Sid

    the fact that someone joins a poker game doesn’t make them a top player though. I suppose she likes playing.

Leave a Reply

